March 27, 2022

The Three Phases of Growth and Learning | Whitney Johnson

We are always learning, whether it’s changing careers or learning a new instrument. But how do we transition from the curiosity stage, to completely mastering the skill? It turns out it’s a rather predictable process. The growth and learning journey we all embark on, many times in our life, can, according to Whitney Johnson, be visualized on the S Curve of Learning. The growth and learning journey comes in three phases: the Launch Point, the Sweet Spot, and Mastery. 

In this episode with Whitney and in her new book Smart Growth: How to Grow Your People to Grow Your Company”, we can learn how to keep going when growth is slow and why we sometimes leap from one journey to another. By familiarizing ourselves with the growth journey, we can better ourselves, our workplaces and our societies. 

Not only has Whitney been a fascinating guest on our podcast, she has also generously given us some signed copies of her book for our listeners! All you have to do is write a Twitter post about why you would like to read Whitney’s book Smart Growth on social media and tag us in the post: @behavioralgroov. We will choose the lucky winners and send you a FREE SIGNED COPY!

Topics

(1:18) Find out how to WIN Whitney’s new book, Smart Growth: How to Grow Your People to Grow Your Company”.

(4:11) What is the S Curve of Learning? 

(11:33) How we have learnt to integrate our work life and home life during the pandemic.

(15:44) Nobody climbs their S Curve alone; how important is context? 

(18:49) The 6 phases of the S Curve.

(26:28) How Shellye Archambeau jumped onto new S Curves in order to reach the summit.

(34:51) What is Whitney’s next challenge?

(40:58) Whitney’s S Curve with music.

(47:00) Grooving Session with Kurt and Tim recapping what we learnt from Whitney.

 

© 2022 Behavioral Grooves

Links

Win a signed copy of Whitney’s new book at @behavioralgroov

“Smart Growth: How to Grow Your People to Grow Your Company” by Whitney Johnson: https://amzn.to/3NpapCq 

The Innovator's Dilemma: When New Technologies Cause Great Firms to Fail (Management of Innovation and Change)” by Clayton Christensen: https://amzn.to/3JE3mDu 

Thich Nhat Hanh quote: “You have to do it by yourself. You can not do it alone.”

Episode 204, How Shellye Archambeau Flies Like an Eagle: https://behavioralgrooves.com/episode/shellye-archambeau-like-an-eagle/ 

Disrupt Yourself Podcast: https://whitneyjohnson.com/disrupt-yourself-podcast/ 

Jacqueline Novogratz on Disrupt Yourself Podcast: https://whitneyjohnson.com/233-jacqueline-novogratz-when-the-work-gets-hard-look-for-beauty/ 

Simon Sinek on Disrupt Yourself Podcast: https://whitneyjohnson.com/simon-sinek/ 

Livingston Taylor On Disrupt Yourself Podcast: https://whitneyjohnson.com/livingston-taylor/ 

Sunil Gupta on Disrupt Yourself Podcast: https://whitneyjohnson.com/222-suneel-gupta/ 

Behavioral Grooves Patreon:  https://www.patreon.com/behavioralgrooves.

Musical Links

Diana Krall “Just The Way You Are”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d8RYUZT57XA 

Stevie Wonder “As”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GYQfWJNWe3I 

Rodgers & Hammerstein“Getting To Know You” from The King and I: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vlx6gQWfjp0 

Aimee Nolte piano jazz tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hJCj7J69vsQ 

Tori Kelly “Don’t You Worry About A Thing”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Skq4IQmt58o 

More episodes

Load more

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App