December 27, 2020

Living Happier By Making the World Better with Max Bazerman

Max Bazerman is the Jesse Isidor Strauss Professor of Business Administration at Harvard Business School and is the author of “Better, Not Perfect.” It is the latest in a string of 21 books Max has authored and stands on the platform of hundreds of peer-reviewed papers on decision-making, negotiations, and ethics.

Max began by discussing the Myth of the Fixed Pie problem, which is quite common in negotiations. The Myth of the Fixed Pie indicates that we tend to rely on the way a problem is initially framed rather than thinking beyond it. We also talked about the importance of using our time wisely by being conscious of the things and experiences we focus on.

Max’s worldview seems to be stitched together with the thread of human kindness. We found him, and our conversation with him, to be incredibly inspiring. Even though we caught up with Max early in the Fall, we felt so much joy and optimism in our conversation, that we decided to conclude 2020 with Max’s take on how much better humanity – not just everyone, but you and I individually, too – can be, if we just pay attention to our decisions

We hope you enjoy our conversation with Max and if you liked it, please give us a quick rating or a review. Thanks for a good year, Groovers, and now on to 2021

© 2020 Behavioral Grooves

 

Links

Max Bazerman: https://www.hbs.edu/faculty/Pages/profile.aspx?facId=6420

Bazerman “Better, Not Perfect”: https://www.harpercollins.com/products/better-not-perfect-max-h-bazerman?variant=32129879736354

Bazerman “The Power of Noticing”: https://www.simonandschuster.com/books/The-Power-of-Noticing/Max-Bazerman/9781476700304

Silver Oak Cabernet – Alexander Valley: https://silveroak.com/shop/category/wine/alexander-valley/

Sam Smith chocolate stout: https://www.samuelsmithsbrewery.co.uk/shop/bottles/stout-bottles/organic-chocolate-stout/

David Messick: https://www.kellogg.northwestern.edu/faculty/directory/messick_david_m.aspx

Ann Tenbrunsel: https://mendoza.nd.edu/mendoza-directory/profile/?slug=ann-tenbrunsel

Mazarin Bhanaji: https://psychology.fas.harvard.edu/people/mahzarin-r-banaji

Dolly Chugh: https://www.stern.nyu.edu/faculty/bio/dolly-chugh

Chugh “The Person You Want to Be”: http://www.dollychugh.com/book

Jeremy Bentham: https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/bentham/

John Stuart Mill: https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/mill/

Peter Singer: https://petersinger.info/

Josh Greene: https://psychology.fas.harvard.edu/people/joshua-d-greene

Greene “Moral Tribes”: https://www.joshua-greene.net/moral-tribes

Utilitarianism: https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/utilitarianism-history/

Mort Seligman Learned Helplessness Lab: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Learned_helplessness

Robert McCollum, Department of Justice: https://casetext.com/case/mccollum-v-secy-of-health-human-servs-1

Matt Meyers: https://docs.house.gov/meetings/GO/GO05/20190725/109846/HHRG-116-GO05-Wstate-MyersM-20190725.pdf

Kahneman & Tversky: https://www.sjsu.edu/faculty/watkins/prospect.htm

Thaler & Sunstein: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nudge_(book)

Effective Altruism: https://www.effectivealtruism.org/

Givewell.org: https://www.givewell.org/

David Ricardo – Comparative Advantage: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparative_advantage

 

Musical Links

Aoife O'Donovan“Oh, Mama”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gSmZCCtyq3Q

Tracy Grammar “If I Needed You”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iOXSc0N1AH4

Simon & Garfunkel “Sound of Silence”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nwP3vPQi0nI

Simon & Garfunkel with Andy Williams “Scarborough Fair”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_T7HgZKZjo

Scarborough Fair / Canticle - Jadyn Rylee, Sina and Charlotte Zone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FAlys2LOX5Q

Joan Baez “Blowin in the Wind”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cBP59jSU4Ag

Tom Rush “No Regrets”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9pxEKfEBOWM

Carole King “You Make Me Feel Like A Natural Woman”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MOyvYnkdEcc

Crooked Still “Little Sadie”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9uRAHnRoWts

More episodes

Load more

Play this podcast on Podbean App